Colder now. Wulhide, Berlin. 1994.

Somehow it is colder now in Berlin

Thick mists are rolling in.

I have got to move out

So another can move in.

Another story of a joker and a thief,

A thief that stole the joker’s bells

And then ran away with her laughter.

 

Somehow it is colder now in Berlin.

I could work to make it warm

But why should I, who carries all the pain,

Do all the work to make it flow again?

 

Somehow it is colder now in Berlin

Without the friend I came to see.

His heat goes out to a friend of mine

Life’s refugee.

On the run with her baby.

Destination Moon.

 

Their laughter echoes round this frozen heart. Mocking me.

It was me that said to her, back then,

“Your laughter is your strongest tool”

And now she has stolen mine away.

 

Somehow it is colder now in Berlin

And jealousy is in my blood.

I am not proud of the way I feel.

But it helps to clear the mud

Away from this deep pain.

 

Somehow it is colder now in Berlin

And isn’t it always the way

That the woman who feels jealous

Is wrong to feel that way.

He runs to her and they bathe in laughter

Then he turns to me for food

He plays and giggles with her baby

Then asks me to chop the wood.

Somehow it is colder now in Berlin

We brought the ice of Poland back

And it will never be warmer

Unless they both come to me and hold me tight.

Until I stop crying.

And that would not change anything really

Unless I just let go.

Forget the theft.

Bereft.

Leave a Reply

