A doodle of a dream Kalash style. 1992.

A doodle I found in the middle of my basic 'working' dictionary of Kalashamun.

A doodle I found in the middle of my basic ‘working’ dictionary of Kalashamun.

I am currently attempting to put my Kalash ‘working’ dictionary into some kind of publishable order. It is very basic and after a small amount of research I have found out that there is, now, a more comprehensive dictionary available at http://www.indigenouspeople.net-Kalashdictionary.pdf (I am certainly not the first to attempt to document this wonderful language!). I have also contacted a Kalash woman who has done an enormous amount to record/save her cultural heritage and am hoping she will be able to correct the worst of my mistakes (if she gets/understands my message!)! Bear in mind, I was a young woman who was living with a people who certainly, back then, had no written language. I believe I might have got a lot wrong, but I did develop a simpler, phonetic way of recording their ‘mun’ that I feel I must include in this story as it was such a huge part of my experience with them. I am wondering if it almost makes more poetic sense not to alphabetise my diary style entries as the order that I ‘learnt’ their words says so much about my journey with these incredible people !!

I

Leave a Reply

