‘Ye shev a rak a dir.’ The train to Delhi. 1992.

They wrote it down in Hebrew....I think!

They wrote it down in Hebrew….I think!

I sat with some Israeli guys for most of the journey they taught me this popular Israeli song. I wrote it down in my own phonetics, with their clumsy translation…which would probably make any Israeli translator laugh!

Chorus.

Ye shev a rak a dir. (I am sitting here…)

Regel boi a gel sham.(One leg here, one leg there…)

Ye shev a rak a dir.(I am sitting here….)

In a bit a laum,laum.(I see all the world…)

Do faik chrrem, chrrem, (I smile everywhere…)

La hrore a quiva neem.( In all directions….)

Ta wvid, ta wvid hims, byan a nim. (And I always know what is going on…)

Repeat chorus…

They wrote it down in Hebrew for me. I am not sure what it meant to any Isreali, but it was how I was feeling on this journey. Astride the experience and smiling.

Leave a Reply

